Thread: Dans video

Dans video

Hi all,

I'm going to shoot sort of a dance video - not very high-tech, just an ordinary 'registration' on tape of one of my choreographies - but as I'm absolutely clueless about filming and all that, I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice on how to portrait ("frame" I think is the right word) dance movements in such a way that they're clearly visible. I think it's got something to do with the 'crossing the line' bit I read in the video tutorial, but I'm not quite sure I understand what's going on... :s. Basically, to give an example, I need to know the best camera-angle to frame a 'pirouette' (a turn), so that the audience can see clearly how this turning movement is made by the dancer. Same goes for jumps, dancing in pairs... well, anything really. But please, only the basics, because as I said I'm only a beginner.

Thanks in advance!!!

Greetz,

a silly clueless Belgian person ;-)

Blog Entries
    Hello Greetz & welcome!

I'm glad to see (or rather read) someone is taking on such a project. I can only pass on some history. Fred Astaire is my point of reference. I hope you can at least research what he did in his choreographs also. In his contract with the studios, all his dances were full body shot framing - never ever any close-ups. This was to show he performed everything. How simple is that? No need to zoom just follow along, of course the cameraman has to be aware of the framing as well.