Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Buying a digital stills camera?

Hi,
    I was playing around with one of my friends digital cameras that cost him around $200 AUD and its functions, and looking at the quality of the stills, I decided to buy one myself for taking good quality photos - But I don't know what I should look out for! I was told that you should have a camera that takes photos at more than 6 mega pixels, and you want to have a good optical zoom... But what else? is there anything that can set four cameras costing about $600 each, apart from each other?
    Thank You.

P.S. Another of my friends Owns a "S5000" (I think its called) its a few years old but the guy says that its aged well and you can pick them up cheap at around $200-$300 AUD -- so I might try to get ahold of one of them, unless anyone has a better suggestion (or any suggestion at all - I'm new to still photography)

P.P.S. I've got around $700 to spend but, heck, if someone can show me a camera worth more than that thats worth the temptation -- I might hold out and save up more!
    Last edited by B_List19; 4th May 2007 at 11:52. Reason: P.P.S.

yay!!!!! another subject i know a lot about has come to MC...

Ok first of. here is the camera i use (22.2. Megapixels). an unless you are working with it i suggest that you dont buy one

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...goryNavigation
    \