Thread: Dead Pixels

Dead Pixels

Hello Everyone,

This is my first post, I hope to be here a long time :-)

I just picked up a Nikon D80 and the first thing that I normally do with my video cameras (I am a producer/director) is check for dead pixels. Well I checked the D80 and found 4 of them. I hate that :-(

4 isn't that much, but I wanted your opinion.

How many do you have to have before you should return the camera?

What is your experience?

Should I be bumbed and return it, or live with it?

I fear that if I return the camera, I might get one back with 8 dead pixels :-)

Thanks Guys !!

AM

Blog Entries
    Hey AM,
    If you just bought it, check with a Nikon sales rep as to what their policy is for dead pixels. Then check the store's policy. If they exchange it for 4 they'll surely exchange it for 8.

However, if they are on the sides, top or bottom, there's always the possibility they may not make the exchange - then just return it
    if you (still can and/or) can't live with it.

This is just one man's opinion, I'm sure someone else may say something else.

SC358
    Relationships are based on compromises - behavior accepted is behavior repeated.

Hey SC,

Thanks, I appreciate your opinion.

Your right about the 8

I just don't want to be without the camera seeing that I just got it. I submitted a ticket with Nikon when I registered, I'll see what they have to say.

Thanks again!!

AM

Unfortunately (or otherwise), this man's opinion's the same as SC358's. Apologies I did not create more controversies or juicy new comments, but rejoice you have more people who seem to be saying the same thing...

So, what's the verdict from Nikon?
    There's no bad camera, just a bad user
    Loong . Singapore

Hi,

Nikon wants me to send them pictures of the "malfunctioning" pixels. I'm working on a huge deal, which has taken most of my waking hours, so I hope to do that today or this weekend.

Thanks

Quote: marotti
    View Post
    Hi,