Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Formats - amd Size

Hello All :-)

I am into film and video for a living, but many moons ago I was a photographer using film. I just purchased a digital SLR and had some questions regarding the file sizes and formats.

I'm not worried about file size, but I am concerned with picture utility. At my largest size setting my photos are 3872X2592 pixels, medium = 2896X1944, and small = 1936X1296.

I use stills for insertion into video, which is 720X480 (SD), printing DVD covers, which are relatively small, and occasionally I'll do posters, which would benefit from a large picture size, but I do a lot of web work and that requires tiny pictures compared to all of the rest.

My problem is this; If I shoot at the largest size, I'll have to reduce the size for the majority of my work, and that will destroy the quality, even the small size needs to be educed substantially to get it down to a size that I can use in video.

I am totally new to digital photography, so what do you guys think about all of this?

Thanks in advance!!

AM

Digital imaging is a nice source if your final product is digital or any stage of your production process that includes the image is digital. It is a bad idea if your project is analog (for example, if you will be making simple prints, will be sending to press with traditionally marked printouts for cropping, lithography, etc).
    Eric Adler (tonsofpcs)
    http://www.videoproductionsupport.com/ Chat at: http://tinyurl.com/vpschat
    Follow me on twitter: @videosupport @eric_adler

Blog Entries
    Quote: marotti
    View Post
    My problem is this; If I shoot at the largest size, I'll have to reduce the size for the majority of my work, and that will destroy the quality,
    Hello AM,
    Imho, you will not destroy any quality from hi-rez to lo-rez. It is when you shoot in lo-rez and then decide to blow it up, is where you will lose quality you desire.