Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

TV Channel won't pay - took vision but won't pay invoice

Moderators note: A few names have been removed from this thread, due to a dispute over the accuracy of the claims involved. The name of the TV channel has been changed to "Channel X", the employee at the channel has been renamed "Mr. X" and the news director (who comes in further down the thread) has been renamed "Mr. Y".

Need some suggestions from other freelancers here.

I work as a freelance journalist, photographer and videographer in Chiang Mai, Thailand.

A couple of weeks ago we had an Hawaiian resident murdered in a restaurant by an Australian.

As is normal in this situation I sent out news alerts seeking interest from TV stations and other media in both Australia and Hawaii.

The alert outlined what had happened and asked if anyone wanted material.

Mr. X from Channel X, who I gather is the director of news there, emailed back asking what was available.

Over the day I had shot and cut down to a 4 minute tape the:-
    Scene of the shooting
    Hotel where the victim was staying
    Chiang Mai police headquarters
    Interview with the shooter - He says on tape when asked why he shot Mr Poretsky, "I didn't like him"
    Chiang Mai court house
    Chiang Mai prison

This included smuggling a camera into the police cells to get the taped confession. I had also written the story and had hi-res stills.

Mr. X asked for this to be sent. Which it was. He also asked for the hi-res still and the editorial. By this stage it had run to an 18-hour day - including talking to the stations reporters..

The next day the shooter was in court. Channel X didn't want any more vision and said to send an invoice.

I sent them a standard day shoot invoice of $700 due in 7 days.

After receiving the invoice Mr. X emailed back saying that they only pay their stringers $150 for vision.