Video camera top light

Hi, i have recently just purchased a new video camera - Sony HVR-HD 1000P - and i am planning to start working as a freelance videographer, weddings etc.
    Could someone tell me if there are any decent and effective (non-expensive) camera top lights available that are actually affective for filming fairly dull/low light wedding repections?
    I have seen some 'shoe-mount' lamps that are only around 10-20 watts in power, surely these can't be strong enough to provide good lighting?

Can anyone suggest anything here?

Thanks

Colin J

Hi Colin

I do weddings for a living and a cam mounted light is really not worth the effort. You can get 100w units now but they "eat" battery power!!!

Personally I use 2 x 700x500 softboxes on stands at the reception and I have modified them to take a DIY box with 9 x 20w CFL lights which gives me an equivalent of around 500w of light output per box. If you look at my samples page on my site the "sample speech" clip was done with just one softbox in an almost dark banquet hall. In churches most will NOT allow any lighting at all!!

http://www.softweigh.com/wedding/

Chris

Depending on the market you're in, you'll see news crews out with either little black cubes or blue cylinder lights (or something similar) atop their cameras. The black cubes tend to be Anton/Bauer Ultra-Light units, the blue cylinders are Frezzolini Electronics' (aka Frezzi Energy Systems) MiniFill or MicroFills. There are a few other companies that make similar (and now Rosco and others are making LED light panels that look cool [but I have yet to see in use aside from demos]), but these two are the big ones. I personally like the Frezzis, but I'm from about 4 miles from their HQ so I suppose I'm a bit biased by the market.

Also, as Chris points out, direct near-camera light doesn't really work too well for Weddings and similar event shoots, be aware of this and other lighting/audio/video/... concerns when selecting equipment.