How to align the audio meter?

I have a couple of questions on audio meter that need clarification.

First, what is the different between VU meter and PPM meter and its applications?

Second, How can I align the two meter properly in order to read the audio content accurately on both meter? If possible, what is the recommended reference level and test level used commonly for broadcast applications.

I would appreciate your help in clarifying the above questions. I am new to broadcast industry and need some guidance in setting this up correctly. Thanks so much in advance.

Regards,

Anthony

Both meters are designed to take into account the fact that audio levels are dynamic - unless you're listening to a test tone, which nobody does.

A slow average-reading meter is about useless, because it totally ignores fairly short-term high level moments. Also, since speech contains pauses between words and syllables, an average-reading meter will tend to have an unrealistically low reading on speech. In a speech and music program, this will cause the operator to turn up the speech mic too high.

The VU meter was developed to overcome this. Its ballistic characteristics were calculated to give readings that correspond well with what we hear subjectively. If you put a continuous tone into a VU meter, it will reach 99% of its final reading within 0.3 seconds, and have no more than a 1% overshoot (if I remember right) before settling to its final reading. In other words, a VU meter is just a voltmeter with well-defined ballistic behavior; fast enough to "hear" the way the ear hears but not so fast as to oscillate madly.