Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Video Streaming - How To?

Hello Forum,

I'm new here, looked around and did not find a posting that really helps me. I therefore have to ask (again) "How do I start with video streaming"? A little bit about my background: I'm a graphic designer and Mac support person. I also know my way around Windows computers, but I'm not an expert here. I did quite some research about video streaming, but I still don't understand much about it - much too technical, no introduction anywhere in plain English. Please take this into your consideration when answering to this posting. Thanks.

I have two video streaming projects that I want to check out:

1.) I would like to stream a frequently changing 45 minutes video to a certain group of people. This video is delivered to me as a normal video dvd. It is important that I'm able to control who can watch this video (probably five to fifteen people within 24 hours after making it available). I basically do know how to convert a video file from one format to another (I'm using the Mac application VisualHub for that all the time), but I do for example not know what format to take for such a streaming.

2.) I would like to stream maybe once a month a live event (lecture) to a certain group of people. Again, it is important that I'm able to control who is watching the stream (probably 20 to 40 people).

If possible I would like to have the viewers to access the stream via their browsers. Many of the viewers are computer illiterates who basically don't know what the difference between a computer and a browser is. This has to be very easy for the viewers!

The whole thing can cost some but not too much money - and I don't even know what "not to much" means. Is this something that can be done for $10 per event, or does it cost at least $100 per event?