Thread: Time code help

Time code help

I have took up filming outdoor videos and have some pretty good footage as of late. I took some of it to an editor and he suggested that I use time codes. I am self taught and have no clue what he talking about. Can anyone tell me how to get a time code on the tapes?

It would be a setting on the camcorder, usually automatic.
    What type of camcorder are you using and why aren't you editing the footage yourself?
    2 x Dual Core Xeon 3.0, Premiere Elements 1 - 7, Premiere Pro CS3, After Effects CS3, Soundbooth, Heroglyph, Vitascene, EncoreDVD http://muvipix.com

I am shooting on a gl2 right now but am planning on upgrading to the xha1 this spring... I am trying to teach myself to edit and the footage I sent out is for someone who already has dvd's on the market and I didn't think I could do a good enough job editing it. I heard that if I black out my tape it would suffice as a continuous time code.. is that true?

Hi

As soon as the camera starts recording it also writes time code to the tape. Everytime you hit pause the timecode stops but is rewritten when you start again. The only time your tape will not have timecode is if you record a segment and then fast forward a few seconds and start recording again..the few seconds of blank footage will have no time code.

Time code is really not an issue with DV cameras..it's more an analogue thing on older cameras where the editor had to linear edit and used the time code (in hrs, mins, secs and frames) to decide where to make a cut.

If you play back a tape in the camera the timecode will appear on your LCD or EVF so if you really want someone to edit the footage just watch the footage and write down the start and end times of the pieces you want to keep ...like clip 1: 00:01:54 - 00:02:36 and so on ...the frame count is not really necessary...all the editor wants to know is what to leave in and what to leave out!!