best tripod for heavy video camera

I am just getting started in video production, on a budget. Can anyone recommend a tripod and head that is a low end pro type for all kinds of location shoots. not much fast action, interviews, and that kind of stuff. Thanks.

Camera Operator/Producer lake54's Avatar
    OK what camera do you have, and what's your budget specifically?

And will the camera have any lights/heavy-duty batteries/wireless packs etc added on to it to increase the weight further?

In the UK (don't know if they're in the USA or not) Libec are the lower-end brand, whilst Manfrotto tend to be the more premium (but still good value) product.

I'm actually looking for a tripod too, for an HD1000.

James

Aloha

I have this Tripod http://www.tiffen.com/displayproduct...m=PROVISTAIR18 and I am quite hapy with it under a Sony H?zu7 camera about 18 pounds I think.

Eric

I'm using the Weifeng range..they are basically copies of the Bogen and so far have worked very well this year!!
    My main ones are the 75mm bowl tripod the E-717 (Actually made very well in Korea and pretty tough but quite heavy)
    You can get the 717 for around $220.00 and it's certainly worth the price!!

Can I ask for your advice on this tripod:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Konig-Heavy-...ef=pd_sim_ce_3

Seems very cheap, includes 2 pan handles as well (more than just a bonus in my opinion!).

9/11 reviewers give it 5 stars, the other 2 give it 4.

Blog Entries
    Quote: lake54
    View Post
    Can I ask for your advice on this tripod:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Konig-Heavy-...ef=pd_sim_ce_3

Seems very cheap, includes 2 pan handles as well (more than just a bonus in my opinion!).

9/11 reviewers give it 5 stars, the other 2 give it 4.