Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Editting programs for video?

I am pretty new to putting videos together. I started out using windows movie maker and have a good grasp of how to use such a basic program.
    Now I would like to upgrade to a better editting program. I use an HD camcorder and film mostly mountain bike stunt videos.
    I would like to manipulate audio, shutting out certain voices in the background.
    Input better looking test/graphics into the video.

Any suggestions and advantages of using certain programs would be appreciated!

Thanks!

The first thing you need to check is whether a potential NLE will import your camera's native files!! Most HD camcorders seem to be heading towards AVCHD video so make sure that the NLE you choose can import it. It's really just a personal choice in the end so try them all!!

I'm a big fan of Sony Vegas and have been using it since Version 3!!! Their Vegas Movie Studio is a good price and is easy to use too!! (and imports AVCHD files)

Chris

Vegas is not a bad idea, but it might be complex for starters.
    Chris, you might want to try Adobe products. CS3 wouldn't be a bad start. Enjoy

Thanks for the replies guys. I actually just visited my local electronics store and saw the Adobe products and they seem good but there are a few other cheaper ones out there. Hard to make a choice between them all.

Edius is the best I have used. Not cheap but works well with all Adobe and third plug-in software. renders fast and a breeze to use.

Is there any really good video editing program for Windows computer? I mean like really good editing program..maybe something that could match up to Final Cut Pro.

Blog Entries