Equipment for video interviews

I am a beginner and I want to purchase gear to do studio interviews. I will be a one man operation as well as the inteviewer in the video.
    I got a few questions. Can a set boom mic be used for 2 people without needing to move it as each person speaks? Or would it be better to use 2 lable mics with a mixer?
    I was thinking of Audio-technica 835b Shotgun Condenser Microphone as my budjet is low..
    Is it better to use a digital recorder rather than to use sount to the video camera?
    Any other tips would be helpful for a one man operation.

I would suggest using two lavaliere mics and run straight into the two audio channels of the camera. Get a camera with professional XLR inputs, and mics with XLR connections. Buy b-stock (refurbished) or used gear if possible to stretch your budget and get into the price range of better equipment.

What is your budget?

Hi Allan,
    My budjet is about $200 to $400 for the mics.

Blog Entries
    Quote: maurice
    View Post
    Can a set boom mic be used for 2 people without needing to move it as each person speaks? Or would it be better to use 2 lable mics with a mixer?
    I was thinking of Audio-technica 835b Shotgun Condenser Microphone as my budjet is low..
    Is it better to use a digital recorder rather than to use sount to the video camera?
    Any other tips would be helpful for a one man operation.
    A boom mic is normally uni-directional and is used with a dedicated Audio/Boom operator who must re-direct the mic to the sound source. Lav's are the better alternative since it's a one man operation. Otherwise, wired hand-held if you are the interviewer and you have an interviewee.

TIP: Use a monitor or other display to set-up your shot but turn it away from the interviewee when shooting because it will distract them to look at themselves rather than look at the camera.
    SC358
    Relationships are based on compromises - behavior accepted is behavior repeated.