Geoff

Editing Pre Production

Hi I’m a student doing a research project on the “pre-postproduction” process of editing. Just wondering what people do before they begin the full edit. If anyone could answer some or all of these questions I would be stoked.
    Do you know any DVD’s with special post production features looking at editing preparation? I know Riding Giants has one.
    You find out that you have an editing job what’s your first action?
    How much research is needed into the area you will be cutting?
    What role does a schedule have in your initial planning?
    What role does a paper edit have in your productions?
    What are you looking to learn from your rough cut? Timing information? Enough Visual Coverage?
    Do you usually use either of these (paper edit/rough cut)?
    What planning can, or do, you do to help the editing process run smoother down the track?

Thanks a lot
    Geoff

Blog Entries
    Hi Geoff,

Quote: Geoff
    Do you know any DVD’s with special post production features looking at editing preparation?
    Sorry, no.

Review the editing brief. It tells me things like how long the finished product needs to be, what footage I'm working with and all the specific requirements.

Not much really. It's usually fairly self-explanatory. Almost all the research is done in pre-production - by the time editing starts it's just a case of putting it all together.

What role does a schedule have in your initial planning?
    I'm not sure exactly what you mean. What sort of schedule?

Sometimes it's very important, but sometimes we don't have one at all. We tend to spend more time on the paper edit if the job is long, complex or unusual. For simple jobs we just make some quick notes and launch staight into it.

What are you looking to learn from your rough cut? Timing information? Enough Visual Coverage?
    Timing certainly. General feel, pacing of the shots, etc.